Productivity??? What?????

I don’t know what you did today, but I watched a House Hunters marathon and ate M&Ms out of a coffee filter (there were no more napkins/clean dishes. I am aware that I’m a mess).

I may currently be the picture of one (or two) of the seven deadly sins, but before all that, I started working at my summer job this morning!! Take THAT mom, I’m NOT a leech on society!!

My job is only part time, of course, and I’m in an office filing paperwork and answering phones, but I’m also earning myself another semester or two in college. Even better, I’m not being berated by my parents to do something with my life other than drool over that two-story bungalow with hardwood floors near a bustling downtown area a hundred miles from me. And, though I hate to admit it, my parents were right. I’ve recently been feeling very disillusioned with myself/how I lead my life. Nothing I’ve been doing lately has seemed to amount to much, partially due to the fact that I haven’t done much. Feeling useless is possibly one of the worst ways to feel; as much as I like HGTV, I love being busy and working with/hanging with people and making differences in my life rather than sitting back and letting life happen to me. I had that during school, at least some of the time, then Summer hit. Before I picked up this job, I saw everyone around me doing new and impressive things in their lives, while I remained stagnant. Now, just one day of being busy has already made me feel better, even if I did have to wake up at 7am today.

So, moral of the story, I love being lazy, but it’s nothing compared to how I feel after doing something worthwhile with my time. The fact that I’m just now starting to learning this is kind of sad. Better late than never, though, right?

Bear with me,

Abbie

Leave a comment